79th Annual Meeting

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Alerus Center in Grand Forks

Doors Open & Supper 5 p.m.
Meeting Begins 6 p.m.

Vote for our board of directors, and voice your opinions. Plus, registered members will have a chance to win cash prizes!

Nominees For Board Of Directors

Listed below are candidates either nominated by petition or selected by the Committee on Nominations. The members of the Committee on Nominations are appointed by the board of directors.

District 1
Luther Meberg
Park River

Luther Meberg, Park River, retired from farming in October 2015. The University of North Dakota graduate and his wife, Linda, have two sons and four granddaughters. Meberg is a past Park River school board director, a past Cenex Harvest States elevator advisory board member, a retired Walsh County commissioner and has also been on an implement dealership board. Luther serves on several committees and boards, including the Dundee Mutual Insurance board and the Park River Rural Fire board. He has also served on the Nodak Electric board for six years.

District 2
David Kent

David Kent was first elected to the Nodak Electric Cooperative board of directors in 1989. Kent is a former state legislator, representing District 20 for eight years. Kent is a graduate of North Dakota State University with a degree in Agricultural Economics. He is an agent with Nodak Insurance. Kent serves on the Union Township board and is a member of Goose River Lodge #19, the Kem Shrine and Farm Bureau. He is also a member of the Holmes United Methodist Church. He resides on the family farm with his wife Marguerite. They have three married daughters, three grandchildren and a fourth grandchild on the way.

District 3
Les Windjue
Devils Lake

Les Windjue is a farmer in Morris Township of Ramsey County. He has been married to Karn for 40 years; they have three children and six grandchildren. Windjue attended Devils Lake High School and Lake Region State College. He serves on the Greater Ramsey Water District board. He is a former member of the Lake Region State College Foundation, the Mercy Hospital Foundation board and served on the Peace Lutheran Church council as treasurer. Les has been on the Nodak board for six years.

Voting By Mail

If you are unable to attend the meeting, you can still vote for this year’s election. For the election of directors, the board of directors has authorized the mailing of an absentee ballot to each member. Since the election this year is uncontested, we will not be mailing ballots and return envelopes for the election. However, if you still wish to vote, you are entitled to vote, and we will honor that right by sending you an absentee ballot. Please feel free to call our office at 1-800-732-4373 and request an absentee ballot, and one will be mailed to your address. If the completed ballot is received by 4:30 p.m. on April 10, 2019, it shall be counted as a vote of the absent member.

Attention Corporate Members

If you are a member corporation, cooperative, school, church or township (or other nonnatural person) of Nodak Electric Cooperative, Inc., and want to be represented at the members’ meeting(s), please request a Designation of Voting Representative form and one will be mailed to you. The form must be completed and signed by an authorized officer of the organization. This form must be completed annually.

In order for the member corporation, etc., to participate in business matters, this form must be received by the secretary of Nodak on or before the date of the members’ meeting(s). This form may be mailed with your ballot to Nodak or presented at registration at the members’ meeting(s).