Luther Meberg – District 1

Luther Meberg, Park River, has farmed with his brothers since 1976. Th e University of North Dakota graduate and his wife, Linda, have two sons and four granddaughters. Meberg is a past
Park River school board director, a past Cenex Harvest States elevator advisory board member and has also been on an implement dealership board. Today he is a Walsh County commissioner, and serves on several committees and boards, including the North Dakota County Commissioners Association legislative committee and the Dundee Mutual Insurance board.



Les Windjue – District 3

Les Windjue is a farmer in Morris Township of Ramsey County. He has been married to Karn for 35 years. Th ey have three children and four grandchildren. Windjue graduated from Devils Lake
High School and Lake Region State College. He serves on the Greater Ramsey Water District and the Mercy Hospital Foundation boards and is clerk of Morris Township. He is a former member of the Lake Region State College Foundation and served on the Peace Lutheran Church council as treasurer.


David Hagert – District 2 

David Hagert has been a member of the board of directors for Nodak Electric Cooperative since 1991 and has held numerous offices, including chairman. He has completed the required courses to receive the credentialed cooperative director certificate.  He currently serves on the Grand Forks County Planning and Zoning Commission and the North Dakota Atmospheric Resource board. He has served on the Emerado school board, the Emerado-Arvilla Lions Club, the Northwood Jaycees, the Grand Forks County Crop Improvement Association, Grand Forks County Farm Bureau, and was past treasurer of Pleasant View Township. David and his wife, Karen, and their four daughters live near Emerado where he farmed for 24 years in a family partnership. He currently owns and operates AgriData, Inc., a Web-based mapping software company that serves farmers, ranchers and agri-businesses on a national basis.


David Kent – District 2

David Kent was first elected to the board of directors of Nodak Electric in June of 1989.  Since that time, he has held various positions on the board and currently serves as Chairman.  Kent is a graduate of NDSU with a degree in Agricultural Economics.  He is a member of the Holmes United Methodist Church, Farm Bureau, and Goose River Lodge #19.  Kent is also a former state legislator, representing District 20 for eight years and is currently an agent for Nodak Mutual Insurance.  David and his wife Marguerite have three daughters and live on a farm near Hatton.


Doug Lund – District 3 

Doug Lund became a member of the board of directors for Sheyenne Valley Electric Cooperative in 1990 and Nodak Electric since the merger on Jan. 1, 2001.  He earned a business education degree from Mayville State University and taught school in Richardton and Prior Lake, Minn., before moving northwest of Sharon to farm.  Doug currently serves on the Mid-West Electric Consumer’s board, and the North Dakota Statewide board.  In the past, he has served on the Finley-Sharon school board, the Trinity Lutheran Church board, the Sharon Elevator board, the Sharon Township board, and the Steele County Crop Improvement Association.  Doug and his wife Carol, farm wheat, barley, flax and soybeans. They have three grown children and three grandchildren.


Lee McLaughlin – District 1 

Lee McLaughlin was elected to Nodak Electric Cooperative’s board in 1991.  He currently represents Nodak on the Minnkota Power Cooperative board and also represents Minnkota Power Cooperative on the ND Statewide board.  He has received, from NRECA, awards for completing the Cooperative Credentialed Director classes, as well as the Board Leadership Classes.  McLaughlin received his bachelor of science degree from North Dakota State University in Fargo in Agricultural Economics.  He is past board chairman of the Walsh Rural Water District, Walsh County Farmers Union, Walsh County Fair board, and several advisory boards.  He served 14 years as a 4-H leader.  Prior to farming, McLaughlin spent 11 years as vice president of agricultural lending at Bremer Bank in Grafton. In 1982 McLaughlin returned to the family farm and joined his brothers in the operation. In 2008, McLaughlin & his wife Judy, received the Outstanding Agriculturist Award from NDSU.   McLaughlin and his wife, Judy,  retired from farming in 2011. The McLaughlin’s are members of St. Joseph’s Catholic Church in Lankin, where he has served  on the church council as well as being a trustee.  They have three grown children and seven grandchildren.


Paul Sigurdson – District 1 

Paul Sigurdson has served on Nodak’s board for District 1 since 1991. He currently serves as president of the Square Butte Electric Cooperative board. He has completed the director courses offered by the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association to become a credentialed cooperative director and completed the board leadership program.  Paul served as chairman of Pembina County Farmers Union and still serves as director. He is currently chairman of the board of directors of Edinburg Farmers Elevator, and a member of Pembina Hills Lutheran Church.  Paul and his wife, Ina, live on a farm near Gardar, N.D. He and his brother grow wheat, soybeans and edible beans. They have four grown daughters and six grandchildren.


Steven Smaaladen – District 3

Steven Smaaladen became a Sheyenne Valley Electric Cooperative board member in1997 and a Nodak board member during the transition after the merger between Nodak Electric and Sheyenne Valley in 2001. He was re-elected to the Nodak board in 2002.  He has held numerous positions on the board and is currently chairman.  He attended Moorhead State University in Moorhead, Minn., and Trinity Bible College in Ellendale, N.D.  Smaaladen farmed with his father and brother until 1997. He then worked in the construction business from 1997 to 2004. For the past 10 years he has been a rural mail carrier out of McVille, N.D. He is currently Secretary-Treasurer for the Griggs-Steele Unit of the Rural Letter Carriers Association. He also serves on the North Dakota Rural Letter Carriers Financial Committee.  As a member of the Finley Assembly of God Church, he serves on the Church board and teaches Sunday school. He has also served as a branch leader for the Aid Association of Lutherans, now known as Thrivant Financial.  For the past 21 years, Smaaladen and his wife, Marsha, have owned and operated Country Greenhouse located on their farm 5 miles north of Aneta.  Their business includes selling bedding plants, perennials, trees and shrubs, and doing a variety of landscaping projects.  He and his son, Zachary, also operate a custom lawn mowing business.  The Smaaladen’s have 2 sons.  Zachary Aaron is 16 and Zane Andrew is 7.  In 2008, the  Smaaladen family traveled to Changsha, China to bring home their youngest son, Zane, who was then 19 months old.  His hobbies are hunting, fishing, salvaging scrap metal and playing basketball with his boys.